Spin For A Cause

Hi Everyone!!

As you know, I’ve been MIA from my blog BUT I’ve come back to tell you all about an amazing Spin class THIS Saturday in NYC.  Not only do you get to sweat your but off at Flywheel sports, but you’ll be supporting one of my favorite bloggers Abby.

Read her story!

Six years ago, my husband was on his second deployment with the United States Marine Corps while I was here in NYC feeling helpless. In an effort to do something productive during his deployment, I signed up for my first Marine Corps Marathon and decided to run for a military charity. I found the Fisher House Foundation (fisher house.org)  and became part of their inaugural marathon team. I figured if I ever needed them, I’d at least have earned my keep. Justin returned home uninjured, but the reality of the situation is that he was lucky and thousands of our soldiers sustain life-altering injuries on their deployments.

Fisher House builds houses near military hospitals for the families of injured soldiers to stay for free while their soldier is recovering in the hospital. It is a 501c(3) charity with a 5-star ranking by charitynavigator.org, meaning 97% of the money raised goes directly to the houses and needs of the families and not to advertising and administration costs.

Since then, I have run 6 marathons with Team Fisher House and raised over $25,000. This year will be the first year that both Justin and I run the Marine Corps Marathon as members of Team Fisher House. I’m grateful to have this goal to work for and honored to be part of such an incredible non-profit organization.

 

On the fence about going? Did I mention there will be amazing raffle prizes such as a Mark Sanchez autographed football, NY Yoga, lululemon gear, MSQ Wellness Package, Sam Edelman shoes, Erica Sara necklace, and more!!

 

Bikes are first come first serve, so sign up now!! What are you waiting for? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

