My toes are supposed to feel like this?

And my training for my first 5k continues…

Although the thought of even running more than 2 miles used to scare me I am now trying to mentally prepare myself for my 10 mile long run in the trails. I drank a lot of water throughout the day because that’s my biggest downfall, I am always dehydrated! I also tried to eat well, I had a salad with tuna, croutons, and fresh mozzarella. YUM!!

With all my built up anxiety, I needed to start my run when I get home from work. Surprisingly, my long awaited 10 miler went by fast and easy, but not too easy it was 10 miles after all! About every 3 miles I had to stop for a water break but other than that my head stayed clear of mile counting and my form stayed strong, who knew? of course somehow my course consisted of running up the steepest hill 6 times, but whatever why not integrate a hill work out as well? I averaged a 10:30 pace which is an accomplishment since that was my long run pace on the streets!

I may have said it was an easy run, but as you can guess ten miles is no easy task. The toes on my left foot was NUMB for about 20 minutes. Obviously I freaked out because who would think this was normal! After being told to suck it up and stop complaining, I crawled up the stairs, showered, and then indulged in a much needed girls Mexican night with endless chips guacamole and skinnygirl margarita, I am on the 5k diet yanno? 😉

Leave a Reply

