Running with my trainer

Luckily, I didn’t drink too much last night so I’m feeling good this morning!  On the agenda today, I have 4 miles at an 8:30 pace!  I started today off with my family at the beach.  I know I’m going to sound crazy, but all day I was thinking ” Crap. Am I going to be too tired for my run today, will I be able to keep that pace”.  Running is ALWAYS on my mind!

When I got home, I showered and then took off for my run with my brother in tow.  Although I was a bit nervous about having him there, I knew it was for the best since his Garmin watch can keep track of how many miles we run and the pace that we’re at.  After a quick warm up, we hit the trails yet again. I was paranoid at being on pace since I knew HE knew how fast I was going.  After mile 2, he took me around different trails to show my around, this was his turf yanno’.  We BSed for a little bit, when I say a little bit I mean it he can be a hardass, and he answered my zillion questions running through my head about running.  Running has been a great bonding experience for us, we’ve always been close but now we can actually do something together.

Yet again, the four miles came and went.  I can’t believe how the miles just fly by! I would have NEVER thought this could happen 5 months ago when a half mile was dreadful.  I have to admit, I was nervous to find out how fast I was going, but  I figured since he wasn’t yelling at me during the run to keep up that I must have been doing okay or that he was pitying me.  ::drum roll please:: I was on pace the WHOLE entire time.  I couldn’t believe it!!!  The funny thing is,  my brother actually broke a sweat too.  Maybe it was because of the 95 degree heat…. either way I felt good! I’ve never held that pace for more than 2 miles AND I was in the trails which is so much harder than the street.

My legs feel like cinderblocks writing this entry, but I know when the time comes it will be all worth it.  Tomorrow is an easy day which is all that I can look forward to right now!

Leave a Reply

