On The Run

The last thing I would ever consider myself was a runner.  I remember the days of dreading gym class when we had to run a mile.  A mile to me was a journey in itself.  For some reason I could never run a mile straight through.  I always felt embarrassed because I was the kid that would come in last or had to stop and walk.  Each year I would come up with new excuses to be out that day.  Prior to March, the last time I attempted to run was when I was in 9th grade.  I remember that day like it was yesterday, I was in amazing shape from dancing and had lost a lot of weight, so of course I figured I could do this.  Although I stopped a bunch of times, when I was running I was pushing myself like I never thought I could.  Partly because I wanted to finish a mile and also because my skinny/borderline anorexic friend was pushing me to keep going and not even out of breath.  I couldn’t believe she wasn’t even out of breath!  I finished with a time of 9:16, which to me was like running a 3:30 mile.

For some reason, on February 25th I decided to start running again.  Maybe it was the fact that I’ve watched my younger brother in admiration due to his amazing accomplishments in running, or the fact that my college roommate wanted to due the Manchester Turkey Trot 10k.  I really don’t know what it was, but I felt like I needed to do this.  Fortunate for me, my brother helped and coached me through the treacherous first week.  I don’t think I would have lasted if it wasn’t for him.  I remember I couldn’t even run a half mile without being out of breath, sounds pathetic doesn’t it?  Then after a week and a half of his coaching and pushing, I finally ran a mile WITHOUT stopping.  I cannot even begin to explain the euphoria I felt.  It was a true runners high.  I couldn’t believe it.  From that point on, I knew I could do this.  All I needed was the first mile down and mentally I knew I could keep going.

Five months and 9 miles down later, yes 9 miles!, I’ve decided to sign up for my first race.  Yet again I needed that extra push from my younger brother, yes younger, and I am officially signed up for a “Twi-light” race on August 14th.  Maybe the name drew me in, I am a R-Patz fan, but I am really excited to do this, even though everyday I’ve been waking up with a killer stomach ache– mostly due to my anxiety of not living up to my last name!

So, now that I’ve signed up I am on a strict running schedule as per my brother.  We’ll see how this goes!

One thought on “On The Run

  1. Hi Bri,
    I am so proud of you – you rock girl!!!!
    I love it. Now you are really committed!!!!
    I ‘m next – I’ll have enter a race. You are my inspiration. Thank you for share your adventure with me – my friend:)

    Patty

Leave a Reply

