Day 1- 6 miles

So I started my first day of official training on 7/27, my best friends & father’s birthday.  Regardless of the training I knew I would need a good run in due to the immense amounts of Italian food & ice cream cake I was about to consume!

On my schedule I had a 6 mile run to do.  We had a break in the heatwave here on Long Island, so I knew this couldn’t be too bad.  The first 3.5 miles were the toughest, for some reason they always are, but I did them in record time for me – at a 8:30 pace.  After this I had to take a water break, which is my downfall.  For some reason,  I always forget to drink enough water!  After a re-fuel I was good to go.  I finished the last 2.5 a lot slower which really bummed me out- a 10:00 pace.  But hey, at least I finished.  Although it was cooler out,  the Long Island humidity is still always there which caused me to have a tough time catching my breath.  This was my first run in my new pair of Brooks Adrenalines, I absolutely love them but they definitely need to be broken in, I felt like my feet were on fire the whole time.  I ended the run with a nice cool down, ab workout, and a poor man’s Gatorade… I am already anxious about tomorrows run! 8X400’s. Yowza!

Leave a Reply

