Day 2- 8X400’s… or so I thought.

So my run didn’t start off too well. I tried sneaking out the door without my brother knowing and of course as I was leaving, he was walking in!! Originally I was supposed to do 8×400 which is sprinting 8 times around the track. I got to 3 and was shot. Obviously I was very upset with myself and my brother said everyone has off days so we’ll try something else, which he says with a smirk on his face which I know all to well.

So he takes me to some cross country trails, makes me run down these 90 degree hills, okay maybe I’m exaggerating a little they were probably like 75 degrees but still!, and then do lunges up them 4 times. My legs were burning!! Then I stupidly told him I felt okay so he takes me deeper in the trails and has me do hill repeats on the SECOND highest point on Long Island!! Then I finished it off with a 1.5 mile cool down throughout the trails.

All in all, it ended up being a good running day and I learned to listen to my body. If I’m not feeling good doing a speed work out, I need to kick my own ass and do something else!

Leave a Reply

